Nouvelle TPS/TVH sur les produits et services numériques transfrontaliers (en vigueur : 1er juillet 2020)

03 décembre, 2020   -   By Luisa Almazan

This post is also available in: English (Anglais)

Nouvelle TPS/TVH sur les produits et services numériques transfrontaliers (en vigueur : 1er juillet 2020) 

 

La vice-première ministre et ministre des Finances, l’honorable Chrystia Freeland, a déposé aujourd’hui le projet de loi C-14, Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions de l’énoncé économique déposé au Parlement le 30 novembre 2020 et mettant en œuvre d’autres mesures.

 

Mesures proposées en matière de taxe sur les ventes :

  • Détaxation temporaire de la TPS/TVH sur certains masques et visières. Cela s’applique aux articles fabriqués après le 6 décembre 2020.
  • Various new GST / HST measures to ensure that foreign suppliers supplying digital products and services (including traditional services) to consumers in Canada or goods through fulfillment warehouses in Canada are subject to the GST / HST.
  • Une nouvelle mesure de TPS / TVH visant à garantir un hébergement de courte durée au Canada, facilité par une plateforme numérique, est soumise à la TPS / TVH (ex: Airbnb).
  • Le gouvernement propose d’introduire une taxe sur les entreprises qui fournissent des services numériques au Canada à partir du 1er janvier 2022, qui resterait en place jusqu’à ce qu’une approche commune acceptable soit élaborée (pas encore mise en œuvre) par l’OCDE. (En vigueur à partir du 1er juillet 2020)

 

 

Pour plus de détails cliquez ici. 

 

 

 

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap

New GST/HST on Cross-border Digital Products and Services

03 December, 2020   -   By Luisa Almazan

This post is also available in: Français (French)

New GST/HST on Cross-border Digital Products and Services  (Effective: July 1, 2020) 

 

On December 2, the Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister, the Honourable Chrystia Freeland, introduced Bill C-14,  an Act to implement certain provisions of the economic statement tabled in Parliament on November 30, 2020, and other measures.

 

Proposed Sales Tax Measures: 

  • Temporary GST/HST zero-rating of certain face masks and face shields. This applies to articles manufactured after 6 December 2020. 
  • Various new GST / HST measures to ensure that foreign suppliers supplying digital products and services (including traditional services) to consumers in Canada or goods through fulfillment warehouses in Canada are subject to the GST / HST.
  • A new GST / HST measure to ensure short-term accommodation in Canada, facilitated by a digital platform, is subject to GST / HST (e.g. Airbnb rental).
  • The government proposes to introduce a tax on companies that provide digital services in Canada from 1 January 2022, which would remain in place until an acceptable common approach is developed (not yet implemented) by the OECD. (Effective July 1, 2020)

 

 

For more information click here. 

 

 

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap